The National Day of Silence is a day of action in which students across the country vow to take a form of silence to call attention to the silencing effect of homophobic, biphobic and transphobic bullying, name-calling and harassment in schools.
The goal of the Day of Silence is to make schools safer for all students, regardless of sexual orientation and gender identity/expression.
Students across the country participate in the Day of Silence to bring attention to this problem, let students who experience such bullying know that they are not alone and ask schools to take action to address the problem.
There is no single way to participate, and students are encouraged to take part in the way that is the most positive and uplifting for their school.

Why Be Silent

Silence can be used as a powerful tool of protest. The reason why we hold this campaign is to create visibility around the issues of homophobic, biphobic and transphobic bullying in New Zealand schools. Students who participate choose to remain in silence to stand in solidarity with the wider rainbow community in protest against bullying. Specifically bullying targeted toward the rainbow community such as homophobia, biphobia and transphobia which is often strutted off and silenced.

The Youth’12 study on Same or Both-Sex Attracted Young People conducted by the University of Auckland shows us that;

– Same or both-sex attracted young people in New Zealand are 3x more likely to be bullied weekly than their heterosexual peers.

– 57.9% of students were worried someone would hurt/bother them at school and 43.3% had been hit or physically harmed on purpose at school in the last year.

– Of those students who had been bullied over 8x as many had been bullied because they were gay or because people thought that they were gay compared to their opposite-sex-attracted peers.

– There has been no improvement in over 10 years in regards to the amount of bullying sexual minorities face in New Zealand schools.

These statistics show us that homophobic, biphobic and transphobic bullying is a major issue in New Zealand schools and it’s time something was done about it.

The Youth’12 report also highlights the concerning levels of depression, anxiety, alcohol and drug abuse, self harm and suicide experienced by young people of sexual minorities. The Youth’12 report on transgender students shows that nearly 20% had attempted suicide in the previous year and nearly 50% had been physically abused.

By taking part in the Day of Silence, students can bring the topic of bullying into the light and then work with school staff and students on follow up actions to break the silence. These could include starting up a queer straight alliance, improving the quality of education on sexual orientation and gender in health classes or specifying homophobic, biphobic and transphobic bullying in your school’s anti-bullying policies and strategies.


Founded in 1996, the Day of Silence has become the largest single student-led action towards creating safer schools for all, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. From the first-ever Day of Silence at the University of Virginia in 1996, to the organising efforts in over 8,000 schools in 2013. In 2007 the Day of Silence took place for the first time in New Zealand at Nayland College in Nelson. The day has been held at the school every year since and has grown to run in the other schools in the Nelson region and other places across the country. This is the 4th year of InsideOUT running this campaign in New Zealand.

Who We Are

Day of Silence New Zealand is run by the InsideOUT team of staff and volunteers. InsideOUT is a youth for youth national charity organisation which works to make Aotearoa safer for young people of minority sexualities, genders and sex characteristics.

Organising for Day of Silence

Organising a Day of Silence (DOS) activity or event can be a positive tool for change-both personally and community-wide. By taking a vow of silence, you’re making a powerful statement about the important issue of homophobic, biphobic and transphobic bullying, and when you organise others to join and stand together, ┬áthat message becomes stronger.



Taradale High School, Nelson College for Girls

Over 85 individual schools, or students from these schools have taken part in Day of Silence in Aotearoa since 2014!

2017: Marlborough Girls’ College, Napier Girls High School, Nelson College For Girls , Newlands College, Wellington Girls College, Victoria University of Wellington, Tawa College, Nelson College, Auckland Girls’ Grammar School, Whitireia Community Polytech, Fraser High School, Fairfield College, Logan Park High School, Sacred Heart College, Auckland Girls’ Grammar School, Whanganui Girls’ College, Taradale High School, Riccarton High School, Kapiti College, Wellington College, Otaki College, Hutt Valley High School, Paraparaumu College, Wellington East Girls’ College, Samuel Marsden Collegiate School, Piopio College, Hagley College, Mt Roskill Gramar School, Western Springs College, Hastings Girls High School, Te Awamutu College, Newlands College

2016: Napier Girls High School, Hastings Girls High School, Wellington College, Kapiti College, Wellington Girls’ College, Newlands College, Hutt Valley High School, Western springs college, Wellington East Girls’ College, Mt Roskill Grammar school, Whanganui High School, Fraser High School, Awatapu Collage, Spotswood College, Campion College, Vision College, Fairfield College, Burnside High School, Victoria University of Wellington, Taradale High School, Nelson College, University of Otago, Wellington School of Medicine, Tawa College, Logan Park High School, Scots College, Onslow College, Queen’s High School, Southland Girls’ High School, Whitireia Performance Center, Aotea College, The New Zealand School of Film and Television, New Plymouth Girls’ High School, Tauhara College, Taupo-nui-a-Tia College

2015: Hutt Valley High School, Western Springs College, Napier Girls’ High School, Waimea College, Hasting Girls’ High School, Nelson College for Girls, Wellington East Girls’ School, St Cuthbert’s College, , Wellington Girls’ College, Cambridge High School, Maeroa Intermediate, Bayfield High School, Taupo-nui-a-Tia College, Tauhara College, Alternative Education Waiariki, Kelston Girls’ College, Campion College, Feilding Agricultural High School, Westlake Girls’ High School, Villa Maria College, Onslow College, Newlands College, Whanganui High School, Wellington High School, Takapuna Grammar School, Reporoa College, Raphael House Rudolf Steiner School, Whangarei Girls’ High School, Motueka High School, Mt Roskill Grammar School, Whanganui Girls’ College, Karori Youth Centre, Queen Margaret College, St Orans College, Nayland College, Edgewater College, Heretaunga College, Kapiti College, University of Canterbury

2014: Onslow College, Hutt Valley High School, Motueka High School, Te Aroha College, Hastings Girls High School, Napier Boys’ High School, Waiopehu College, Westland High School, Waimea College, Tauranga Girls’ College, Nelson Girls’ College, Greymouth High School, Fairfield College, Epsom Girls’ Grammar School, Wellington High School, Mount Roskill Grammar School, Aotea College, Victoria University Wellington, Unitec, Taradale High School, Mount Albert Grammar School, Napier Girls’ High School, Long Bay College, Central Hawkes Bay College, Tawa College, Wintec, St Cuthberts College, Hamilton Girls’ High School, St Mary’s Diocesan School, Papanui High School, Wanganui Girls’ College, Kerikeri High School, Auckland Girls’ Grammar School, Rosehill College, Nga Tawa Diocesan School, Wanganui High School, Glenfield College, Hillcrest High-School, Tauhara College, Taupo-nui-a-Tia College, Teawamatu College

Return home